WhatsApp releases temporary messages for users in Brazil | Applications and Software

Temporary messages from the Whatsapp finally they are arriving in Brazil. According to reports on Twitter, the resource started appearing here since, at least, last Monday (30). The function was officially announced in early November and was already available to some users of WhatsApp Beta for Android.

WhatsApp (Image: Christian Wiediger / Unsplash)

WhatsApp (Image: Christian Wiediger / Unsplash)

The purpose of temporary WhatsApp messages is to automatically eliminate what is unimportant. It can be useful, for example, not to store that shopping list that you sent your roommate (or yourself).

In this way, the messenger intends to further naturalize the use of the platform for everyday conversations, like the ones we have personally in our daily lives.

Users in Brazil can activate temporary messages (Image: Playback / WhatsApp)

Users in Brazil can activate temporary messages (Image: Playback / WhatsApp)

The feature works for individual or group conversations. However, in the second case, only administrators can activate the option of sending temporary messages.

When you enable the function, all messages sent later disappear after seven days, and the stopwatch icon starts to appear next to your contact’s profile photo, as shown in the image below.

Test of temporary messages (Image: Playback / WhatsApp)

Test of temporary messages (Image: Playback / WhatsApp)

FAQ about temporary WhatsApp messages

Key things you should know about the new messaging feature that self-destruct after seven days are:

  1. Temporary messages will disappear even if a user does not open WhatsApp for seven days. However, it may be that the message preview is displayed in the notifications until WhatsApp is opened.
  2. When you reply directly to a message, it will appear above your reply. If you reply to a temporary message, the text of that message can be displayed even after seven days.
  3. If a temporary message is forwarded to a conversation where temporary messages are disabled, that message will not disappear from the conversation it was forwarded to.
  4. If a user backs up before a message goes away, that temporary message is included in the backup. However, the temporary message will be cleared when the user restores the backup.

Finally, it is worth remembering that temporary messages can also be captured by prints and the media stored on the recipient’s cell phone will not be deleted after the expiration of the period.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *